Secret Mystery Birchbox and July Box Review and Unboxing

Mystery Box and July Birchbox Unboxing 2017.jpg

Hi loves! Today I am going to give you guys a sneak peek into the mystery Birchbox and give you a quick review of the July box! I know it’s after July but hopefully you this can help give you can idea of what you get in a box. If you get emails from Birchbox you may know that towards the end of the month they have an offer giving you an extra box free if you subscribe. I thought this offer was too good to pass up so I ordered the July box and got the secret mystery box free, so that’s two boxes for £12.95!

First off I’ll give you guys a quick review of the July box. Last month I wasn’t so happy with the box but I much prefer it this time around! This month everyone got to choose a colour of Benefit’s Lip and Cheek Stain, so I chose the Chachatint. It’s a really, vibrant orange but it blends out quite easily to give a warm flush on the cheeks and lips. The sample is tiny but it’s nice to get to try a more expensive brand.

Benefit ChachatintPop Beauty Eyeshadow Trio in Champagne Mocha.jpg

The second makeup item is the Pop Beauty Eyeshadow Trio in Champagne Mocha. It’s so nice to get an eyeshadow sample as they’re quite hard to find normally. I haven’t tried them on my eyes yet, but the colours are really beautiful and I think most people could get good use out of these.

Moving onto skincare I received the Balance Me Flash Cleanse Micellar Water. This has come in so handy as I’ve been travelling recently and this is perfect size. This does a great job of cleansing my skin but it doesn’t strip it, thankfully. This is also 99% natural so it’s perfect for anyone wanting to try out more natural skincare.

Balance Me Flash Cleanse Micellar WaterPercy and Reed Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Overnight Recovery Treatment.jpg

Next we have the Percy & Reed Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Overnight Recovery Treatment. This is a treatment you pop on before bed and overnight it works to rehydrate your hair, increase its shine and prevent frizz. It says it absorbs instantly and there are a lot of reviews saying it doesn’t leave hair greasy, so I’m guessing there’s no need to wash it out either!

The next product is the Rituals Hammam Delight Foaming Shower Gel. Apparently this shower gel turns into a foam as soon as it hits water! I’ve never seen something like this before so I’m very excited to try it! I don’t think it will be a product that changes my life, most shower gels are pretty similar, but I can give you guys a mini review on Instagram to see if it works like it claims.

Rituals Hammam Delight Foaming Shower Gel.jpgEnglish Laundry Eau de Parfum Sample.jpg

This month I got a surprise, extra sample of the English Laundry Eau de Parfum. I’m so happy they had this as an extra sample rather than one of the five as it’s fairly small and perfume is a very individual thing. However, I actually love trying out perfume samples! Whole bottles are usually so expensive and it’s hard to get a feel of how something wears from just smelling it in a shop.

Birchbox Unboxing July 2017

July was actually a pretty good box, I thought it was much more tailored to what my profile says and what I like, so I’m actually pretty impressed! Now for the thing you’ve all been waiting for, the super-secret, mystery box…….

Which is actually last month’s bag. I did get last month’s bag but I really didn’t like it so I unsubscribed, however in this bag I actually got some of the items I had been hoping for last time. If you want to see what I got last time I’ll link the blog post on it here, but if you want to see what I got this time round just keep reading!

I got repeats of the two full size items I received last time, the Cowshed Cow Pat Hand Cream (£8) and the MeechNMia Brow Liner in #22 (£12.99.) I didn’t love either of these the first time round so I probably won’t keep these as backups. I’m going to try and find someone who’ll like them more and give them as gifts. But it all gets better from here…

Cowshed Cow Pat Hand CreamMeech and Mia Brow Liner in #22.jpg

I also received the Perfecting Blender Duo Sponges from Ecotools, worth £9.99. This is actually the reason I got the June Birchbox in the first place and I’m so excited I got these this time! This is full size and it comes with two makeup sponges, one about the size of the Real Techniques sponge and one a little smaller. I’ve seen loads of people making with these as the one straight side gives you a perfect line. I’ve really wanted to try this so I’m super excited about this one, it’s my favourite item!

Ecotools Perfecting Blender Duo Sponges

The next thing is the Coffee Body Scrub from Scrub Love, and the full size is £11.95. Last month I received the Coconut Mango Scrub and it smelled so bad I threw it straight away! I had been hoping so badly to get this version as I’ve really wanted to try a coffee scrub. I did like how gritty the previous scrub it was and it did a really good job of getting rid of all my dead skin, so I hoping this one will work just as well.

Scrub Love Coffee Body Scrub.jpg

Finally, the last thing is the Nuxe Crème Prodigieuse Anti-Fatigue Moisturising Cream. This sample is 15ml but the full size is worth £21. This is a hydrating moisturiser that’s supposed to brighten the skin and is non-greasy, so will hopefully be good for my combo skin. I generally prefer gels to creams for moisturisers but this is very lightweight so it looks good so far!

Nuxe Creme Prodigieuse Anti-Fatigue Moisturising Cream.jpg

Overall I think that was a pretty good deal for only £12.95! Birchbox is always a bit hit and miss for me as I much prefer to know what I’m getting before I subscribe. However, I did end up accidentally getting the August box, that’s a story for another day, so there will be a review of that one as well! Would you guys like to see an insta of what’s in there before the post? Or I could keep it a surprise!

I hope you guys liked this post, it was a big longer than normal but you guys on twitter preferred one longer post to two separate ones. Did you guys get the July Birchbox, and what did you think of it? Also does anybody know if the extra box is always last month’s? Leave a comment down below!

Thank you guys for reading, I love you all xxx

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Instagram: @oliviacbeauty98

Twitter: @oliviacbeauty

Pinterest: Olivia Charlotte

4 thoughts on “Secret Mystery Birchbox and July Box Review and Unboxing

  1. Velvet Blush says:

    I did get an email about this, but I don’t have the best luck with Birchbox so I gave it a mix. It’s good you got the products that you wanted from last months box, with my luck I wouldn’t gotten all repeats haha! x

    Velvet Blush

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

