Treating Combo Skin – My Skincare Routine

Skincare Routine for Combination Skin

Hi loves! For all you guys with combination skin struggling to find a routine that works, I feel your pain. Recently my skin has been testing me so I’ve been trying out so new things and have finally found a routine that keeps my skin feeling balanced. If you want to know my favourite tips, tricks and product then just keep on reading.

Cleanser

In the morning I focus on clearing my skin of excess oil, so I like to use The Body Shop Seaweed Cleansing Gel Wash as it gets my skin really clean without feeling stripped. If your cleanser makes your face feel squeaky clean throw it away right now! It’s so tempting to use products like this if you’re having trouble with oil, but by stripping your skin you actually stimulate it to produce more oil to compensate.

Best Cleansers and Face Washes for Combination Skin

So, in my evening routine I focus on hydrating my skin to prevent it producing too much of its own oil. I use the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water for Combination and Sensitive Skin to remove makeup as if takes everything off really well but doesn’t leave a greasy film. Next I use the Body Shop Vitamin E Cream Cleanser. This doesn’t work so well for taking off makeup, which is why I double cleanse, but this gentle cleanser makes my skin feel much softer and more hydrated. This is also perfect if you’re not wearing makeup and just want to freshen up your skin.

Tip

Using multiple products with different properties allows you to spot treat and have more flexibility to change up your skincare routine as your skin fluctuates. Combination skin can be really changeable so this is really important for me. Some things to look for that hydrate are Vitamin E, Hyaluronic Acid and Glycerin and some for mattifying or oil clearing are Kaolin (a form of White Clay), Glycolic Acid and Seaweed.

Toner

I never used to use toner because someone once told me it stripped your skin but that is so wrong! The purpose of a toner is just to close up your pores after cleansing to prevent dirt getting in, so if you get the right toner it can really help with keeping pores clean. I use The Body Shop Vitamin E Hydrating Toner because it is alcohol free so won’t dry out your skin.

The Body Shop Vitamin E Hydrating Toner

Moisturiser

My biggest tip for moisturiser, whether it’s morning or night, is to use a gel. Gels give all the hydration of a cream but are lightweight enough for oily areas. My all-time favourite is the Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief Gel-Cream as it feels so lightweight but my skin literally looks like it’s just drunk a glass of water. If ever my skin is really oily I just use a separate gel-cream on my oily areas. For this I really like the REN Clarimatte T-Zone Balancing Gel-Cream as it does an amazing job of mattifying my skin but doesn’t irritate or strip it.

Best Moisturisers for Combination Skin

Tip

To make one moisturiser work for all parts of your skin choose once that is lightweight enough for your oily areas, then add a double layer on your drier patches. If you prefer more intense hydration in the evening to help repair your skin and control oil levels, just add a double layer all over your face.

Little Extras

I like to have a variety of face masks with multiple properties, as I’m a big fan of multi-masking. When your skin is very unbalanced, using hydrating masks on your drier patches and mattifying masks on your oily areas can really help. Some of my favourites are The Body Shop Seaweed Oil Balancing Clay Mask to oil clear and the Clinique Moisture Surge Overnight Mask to hydrate. I also like to exfoliate once or twice a week using the St Ives Invigorating Apricot Scrub to get rid of any dead skin that could clog up my pores.

Best Face Masks and Exfoliators for Combination Skin

Tip

My absolutely biggest tip is to listen to your skin. This is so important with combination skin as it can need different things at different times on different areas. This is why I have multiple versions of the same products so I can switch it up depending on how my skin is. If your skin is feeling really dry add a thicker layer of your moisturiser and use hydrating, overnight masks. If you’re producing a lot of oil go for a lighter moisturiser and avoid anything that might strip your skin.

Obviously everyone’s skin is different so keep trying new stuff to work out what works for you and what doesn’t. These are just a few of my favourite tips and products to keep my skin healthy and balanced. If you have any tips or products that work really well for you let everyone know in the comments! What’s your skin like and how long is your skincare routine?

Thanks so much for reading, I love you all xxx

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Instagram: @oliviacbeauty98

Twitter: @oliviacbeauty

Pinterest: Olivia Charlotte

8 thoughts on “Treating Combo Skin – My Skincare Routine

  1. Velvet Blush says:

    My skin’s dry, and I completely agree it’s important to listen to your skin. If I’m getting more dry patches, I exfoliate with the Pixi glow tonic and then go in with the body shop facial oil. If my t zone is congested I go in with the alpha h for a more intensive exfoliation, or I use the simple scrub once a week (which does the same job as the st ives one I think) xx

    Velvet Blush

    Liked by 1 person

    • oliviacharlottesite says:

      Thank you!! 💖 Personally the Clinique Moisture Surge has done absolute wonders for my skin and I’d recommend it to anyone with combo/oily skin! I know it is quite expensive though, so if that’s too pricey the body shop seaweed cleanser is another one that really helped my skin!

      Like

      • Josie says:

        Thank you that is really helpful!! I was also wondering what you did after you exfoliate your face. As I find after I exfoliate I break out and my skin feels worse, do you use toner or moisturer? Thank you. Xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • oliviacharlottesite says:

        No problem!! I normally go in with a hydrating serum + moisturiser or overnight mask just to give my skin a little more tlc, but I’ve recently switched to a chemical, glycolic exfoliator/toner which is much more gentle on my skin. Maybe that could work better than one with beads that physically exfoliates? Xxxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

